So last night I went to speed dating for the first time. This was quite an interesting experience and not just because of the variety of men I met. When I arrived I was informed that there were 20 men and 12 women, so clearly the odds were in my favor. They changed up the rules a little and rather than the men moving from table to table, the women had to. I was not happy about this moving from guy to guy as they sat back and relaxed like Kings. Oh well I decided to make the best of it and drink a little more than I have in a long time, seeing as I am done with the marathon. As I carried my long island from table to table I met quite a few interesting men.
There was the Russian immigrant who was 25 years older than me but kept telling me age doesn't matter and even though I am closer to his sons age than his love knows no age. The mechanic who I decided to spend the 3 minutes we were supposed to be "getting to know each other" asking him if he thought a sound my car was currently making was something I needed to get checked out and if it would be pricey (he told me yes and could be very expensive...balls). A UPS driver who showed me pictures on his phone of all sorts of different dishes he could cook for me, describing in detail how he would do all the preparation in front of me and that we could be something really great. A ripped Physical Therapist who lifted up his shirt so I could see and feel his amazing six pack, which was pretty impressive I must say. There were many more men, some noteworthy others not so much.
By the end of the speed dating I had enjoyed two long islands and was half way through my third. Things do start to get a little hazy at this point but the rest of the evening is too entertaining to not share. My ex, who was also in attendance at this speed dating, and I decided that this was a great time to have a very serious conversation, because when I have had 3 long islands it's always a great time to discuss serious things with me. After this serious conversation dancing sounded like a fabulous idea and a small group of us went to the dance floor and began to get our groove on. Very abruptly as tends to happen with me I decided it was time for the fun to end and for me to go. I left the bar to go sit in the backseat of my car and wait for my friend (whose house I was staying at) to get home from a concert she had gone to. I vaguely recall getting into my car and the next thing I know its 5:15am. I wake up in a full on panic, whose car am in, how did I get here where am I parked, was I abducted. Slowly I looked around oh this car has a bike rack in it, I have a bike rack in my car I think to myself. Hmm this car has a parking pass on it, my car has parking passes as well. After about 5 minutes of very critical thinking I am able to deduct that yes I am in fact in my car. I also as I am looking around notice that someone has puked all over the backseat of my car and all over the floor. At this point I call my friend and walk the 20 feet to her front door so she can let me in to sleep.
All in all a rather exciting and eventful night, while today is very unpleasant and will be spent on the couch it was almost worth it to meet a bunch of new people, celebrate the end of my marathon training and of course another chapter for the memoirs!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment